Like No Other Place In The World! The Brooklyn debate…

It is interesting timing to unveil our latest series of photos at the shop (in addition to Gregoire’s I spoke about yesterday)- because they are a series of photos of the famous Brooklyn Signs that you see coming into the borough (and one funny one below when you leave!) that I commissioned Jill and Sems to take (2 great photographer friends I have spoken about several times on this blog). The part that makes it interesting, however, is that I just read this weeks cover story from Time Out New York, which is BROOKLYN VS. MANHATTAN (you can read it here, but the whole magazine is worth picking up). Of course no surprise what my vote is– Brooklyn, baby… We have so much to offer, and are not embarrassed to admit it, these signs are evidence of that. Of course I have spent plenty of time in good ole Manhattan (Manhasbeen as its been called?!) and love it ALL– but the differences are huge. Anyway– sign photography is hanging up at the shop, all available framed and unframed. $25 and up.

all photos by Jill Valle and Sems Kayisiz

p.s. I am not sure how I even got enrolled in this daily email from TONY  but I LOVE it-in my inbox email it’s called NOW DO THIS TODAY- and has cool things to do around the city. I highly recommend it!

1 Response to “Like No Other Place In The World! The Brooklyn debate…”


  1. 1 eva / sycamore street press February 28, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Ha! Love these signs. Also – Thanks for the newsletter link…we’re thinking we’ll give ourselves a little extra time to explore the city when we’re in town for the Stationery Show, and I’m looking for ideas of what to do / places to go. We definitely would love to check out your shop!


Leave a Reply

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

