Archive for April 12th, 2009

Cooking up a Storm

cooking-up-a-storm1

Today is Easter and I am taking the day off (store is still open, BTW!). Since it’s a rare day off for Rob and me, I decided to do something I haven’t done in ages– COOK!! Ha! I used to cook all the time (as Rob reminds me) but with the store and all, I haven’t done too much of that lately. And I LOVE cookbooks. We had a ton at the store when we first opened but in the year and a half since we opened (yes- we celebrated our 1 1/2 year anniversary on 4/4!)– I have not replenished them too much because I felt like I was always buying them for myself. One for me, one for the shop type thing- you know how that goes. Anyway, we just got some new ones in and of course I NEED this new one too- Cooking up a StormRecipes Lost and Found from The Times- Picayune of New Orleans.  Here is a little write up about the book from the Publisher’s (Chronicle) website:

After Hurricane Katrina devastated New Orleans, thousands of people lost their keepsakes and family treasures forever. As residents started to rebuild their lives, The Times-Picayune of New Orleans became a post-hurricane swapping place for old recipes that were washed away in the storm. The newspaper has compiled 250 of these delicious, authentic recipes along with the stories about how they came to be and who created them. Cooking Up a Storm includes the very best of classic and contemporary New Orleans cuisine, from seafood and meat to desserts and cocktails. But it also tells the story, recipe by recipe, of one of the great food cities in the world, and the determination of its citizens to preserve and safeguard their culinary legacy.

Rob is from DC/ VA and is a BIG fan of Southern Cooking and I know he will absolutely love this cookbook.  I am not sure yet if I will make some of the yummy biscuits from the book, or shrimp & grits, or maybe even a dessert (Floating Islands sounds good!)– but I know today we will be COOKING UP A STORM for sure! Available at the shop or by phone, $24.95.

