Archive for April 28th, 2009

Outliers is Outstanding

outliers3I just finished Malcom Gladwell’s most recent release, Outliers:  The Story of Success and it was every bit as compelling and interesting as I could have hoped. After I read his first book, The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference, several years ago I was so enamored with Malcolm Gladwell and all his amazing insights that I felt like for a full year and a half I thought of something every day that related to that book. Then Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking came along (his second book) and I was less than enthused, but Outliers brought it all back for me (makes me think I need to re-read Blink, maybe I was not “in the right place” when I read it the first time). EVERYONE should read this book- athletes, parents, school teachers, lawyers, Garmentos, Southerners, computer whiz’s, maybe people who are scared of flying should not read this book ( well- y’know, on second thought- even they should too, just maybe not while flying), seriously EVERYONE will learn something from this amazing book.  Here is a little write up from the Publishers site (Little Brown/ Hachette):

In this stunning new book, Malcolm Gladwell takes us on an intellectual journey through the world of “outliers”–the best and the brightest, the most famous and the most successful. He asks the question: what makes high-achievers different? His answer is that we pay too much attention to what successful people are like, and too little attention to where they are from: that is, their culture, their family, their generation, and the idiosyncratic experiences of their upbringing. Along the way he explains the secrets of software billionaires, what it takes to be a great soccer player, why Asians are good at math, and what made the Beatles the greatest rock band.

Brilliant and entertaining, OUTLIERS is a landmark work that will simultaneously delight and illuminate.

Read this and let me know what you think.  Thanks Catrine for getting me this book for Christmas! You might recognize Catrine’s name from this blog or from the shop (she was “Employee of the month” last year for her outstanding volunteer help for our First Anniversary Weekend last October), or more recently for being the winner of the Haiku contest!! Her real name is Catherine Grieve, but we nicknamed her Catrine. FULL DISCLOSURE: she is also one of my best friends, was Maid of Honor at my wedding and is also my Lawyer. We are Malcolm Gladwell devotees and have seen him speak several times, including once together at the Omega Institute several years ago in NYC when he was the Keynote Speaker. Thanks again Catrine–Excellent read!  xoxox

