Happy MLK, JR. Day & New York Magazine: 50 Steps to Simple Happiness…

Illustration by Jim Stoten via http://www.newyorkmag.com

Happy Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Everyone.  In high school a dear friend (Jeff Fletcher was his name, wherever you are-Fletch I miss you!) gave me a book of his teachings and quotes and all these many years later I still treasure that book and MLK, Jr’s words. I took a tour of his Birthplace and home when I lived (briefly in Atlanta) too, but what sticks with me day in and day out is one of his quotes that really resinates with me- Take the first step in faith. You don’t have to see the whole staircase, just take the first step. Of course he said so many prophetic and profound things in his lifetime, and was a champion for Equal rights but when I am in a challenging situation (hello, LIFE!) I always remember that and think start with the faith, and then take it one step at a time and I will see this through to the end. My man Rob reminds me of this whenever I start to feel defeated. This morning, over a delicious breakfast he whipped up, Rob also showed me this wonderful article in last week’s New York Magazine (the one with the Edwards’ on the cover) titled, 50 Steps to Simple Happiness. #4 caught our attention first, but they are all worth reading. See which ones work for you and  I hope it helps you find HAPPINESS.  Let me know if you have any to add!

0 Responses to “Happy MLK, JR. Day & New York Magazine: 50 Steps to Simple Happiness…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

