Happy 4th Everyone!! Greetings from Martha’s Vineyard…

Happy 4th Everyone!! You might remember that this is my favorite holiday so I am off for the long weekend making memories to put in this cute flag frame I brought from the shop as a house warming present!!! The shop will be closed on Sunday the 4th too- so Happy BBQ’ing, Happy Fireworks, Happy Summer!

I am lucky enough to visit one of my favorite places in the world this weekend- Martha’s Vineyard. It was a LONG trip up here because of TONS of traffic, but it was all worth it. Yesterday I had my perfect Vineyard day, a trip up island for a little shopping, lots of beach time, sunset at Menemsha, lobster dinner on the beach. Here is a peak into a few of our stops- the first being a major inspiration for me- Alley’s General Store. It is a great example of an old time-y General Store. You pick up your mail there, reserve the newspapers, it was even had video rentals at one point- but interestingly enough, when it came down to hard gift-y goods, we sold a lot of similar items. Here are some more pics (pardon my lack of cropping, these are all iPhone pics and I am on a borrowed Mac)-

Always have loved the bulletin board outside the entrance- lots of cool events to discover, and the bench is so inviting…

I haven’t been up here in two years but it looks like this Alley’s Farm Stand opened up last summer- fresh, Vineyard grown and baked treats all year long (we bought a gorgeous looking cherry pie with dough hearts on it we just had to have because it smelled soo good- we ate it after lobsters on the beach- yum!)

Speaking of Vineyard grown treats- down the street from Alley’s is the old Ag Hall where outside they have an amazing farmers market on Wednesdays and Saturdays. It was very crowded for the holiday weekend, but my friend let me pop in for a minute  (I was anxious to get to the Up Island beach too!) to take in the sites. Despite the heat, the hydrangeas, above, looked soo pretty…

One of my favorite restaurants in Edgartown, Chesca’s, sells marinades and dips- we had to try them all, and bought the balsamic mix. We used it later on strawberries and blueberries- yummy!

great sign for specials for the 4th!

We were checking out the Island grown greens, my friends’ garden provided us with delicious lettuce and basil but we still bought some more mint for mojitos…

There was even a band- I love the Vineyard! The Cattle Drivers were singing one of my my dad’s favorite tunes-

0 Responses to “Happy 4th Everyone!! Greetings from Martha’s Vineyard…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

